This site is not affiliated with AGCO Inc., Duluth GA., Allis-Chalmers Co., Milwaukee, WI., or any surviving or related corporate entity. All trademarks remain the property of their respective owners. All information presented herein should be considered the result of an un-moderated public forum with no responsibility for its accuracy or usability assumed by the users and sponsors of this site or any corporate entity.
The Forum Parts and Services Unofficial Allis Store Tractor Shows Serial Numbers History
Forum Home Forum Home > Allis Chalmers > Garden Tractors
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Snowthrower bearing

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Bronze Level
Bronze Level

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote gcunard Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Snowthrower bearing
    Posted: 05 Feb 2014 at 6:59pm
Hi,
A newbie here and to Allis equipment.

Recently had an auger bearing self-destruct on an early 1970's, 40" tractor mounted thrower. No model number tags, etc. It is yellow, single stage, with a white chute. The side bearing is a 3 bolt flange, 1" shaft. I was able to remove the drive gear and key. Any recommendations on how to pull the inner race, identify the part # needed, etc. The set screw appears to be permanently in place on both bearings.

Bonus would be help on how to remove the auger itself when the non-driven bearing allen screw is stuck.

Any hints welcomed! Greg
Sponsored Links

jaybmiller View Drop Down
Orange Level Access
Orange Level Access

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote jaybmiller Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Feb 2014 at 7:30pm

Removal of stuck allen screw...