Forum Description: everything else with orange (or yellow) paint
URL: https://www.allischalmers.com/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=131224
Printed Date: 25 Sep 2024 at 11:33am
Software Version: Web Wiz Forums 11.10 - http://www.webwizforums.com

Topic: AC 816b grinding noise
Posted By: Seanm
Subject: AC 816b grinding noise
Date Posted: 11 Nov 2016 at 6:39pm
Hello everyone. Im brand new to this forum and could use a little insight into AC 816b backhoe. I'm new to this type of mechanical work, but willing to learn. I just purchased a parts manual because surprisingly the internet doesn't have a whole lot of information on this model! 
Im trying to pinpoint a grinding noise when i put my machine in forward. Only happens in forward, in all gears, no grinding noise when i put it in reverse. Would that be transmission or rear differential. 
 Thanks

Replies:
Posted By: Orange4ever
Date Posted: 12 Nov 2016 at 7:12am
This is Tom's dad . we have two of them backhoes check your oil in your forward and reverse shifting clutch and check the oil in the transmission if it's in the transmission itself it's a standard truck transmission I believe it T 19 without a reverse we have had problems with the forward and reverse clutch is going out especially in forward when you change the oil . If oil in the forward and reverse transmission it'll look like a red rag has come apart .red particles your clutch disk is coming apart on your forward Side . If I'm not mistaken I think the FxR transmission is a Clark Parts still available always check the oil in the outboard planetary's for metal particles and check the differential for metal particles it's also possible they could be this simple you U join or short shaft between the transmission and the rear end The spider bearing to go out in the U joint and they'll make a noise

-------------
If you want a man to be a successful farmer, give him a Allis Chalmers tractor. If you want him to be a successful mechanic, give him a John Deere