This site is not affiliated with AGCO Inc., Duluth GA., Allis-Chalmers Co., Milwaukee, WI., or any surviving or related corporate entity. All trademarks remain the property of their respective owners. All information presented herein should be considered the result of an un-moderated public forum with no responsibility for its accuracy or usability assumed by the users and sponsors of this site or any corporate entity.
The Forum Parts and Services Unofficial Allis Store Tractor Shows Serial Numbers History
Forum Home Forum Home > Allis Chalmers > Farm Equipment
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Looking at Picking up a D17

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Bronze Level
Bronze Level

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Jimmyessbee Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Looking at Picking up a D17
    Posted: 14 Feb 2024 at 7:30pm
I'm new to the Allis Chalmers world and contemplating the acquisition of a D17. I'm curious what it is that I should be looking for as I'm investigating whether or not it's a good idea. 

Any insight is appreciated.
Sponsored Links

WF owner View Drop Down
Orange Level
Orange Level

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote WF owner Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Feb 2024 at 7:55pm
A couple questions:

Gas or diesel? (Diesel is VERY expensive to rebuild and engine parts can be hard to find.)

What Series? (Series IV is by far the most sought after, but they are all good tractors.)

I guess the most important things to check is:

has it been abused and doesn't stay in gear?

How are the rear tires and rims?

Does the hydraulics work right?

Coolant in the oil?
DrAllis View Drop Down
Orange Level Access
Orange Level Access

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote DrAllis Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Feb 2024 at 8:43pm
What do you plan on doing with this 53 PTO HP tractor ???