This site is not affiliated with AGCO Inc., Duluth GA., Allis-Chalmers Co., Milwaukee, WI., or any surviving or related corporate entity. All trademarks remain the property of their respective owners. All information presented herein should be considered the result of an un-moderated public forum with no responsibility for its accuracy or usability assumed by the users and sponsors of this site or any corporate entity.
The Forum Parts and Services Unofficial Allis Store Tractor Shows Serial Numbers
Forum Home Forum Home > Allis Chalmers > Farm Equipment
  New Posts New Posts
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login


Converting an 8070 to dual pto

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
Shivvets View Drop Down
Bronze Level
Bronze Level


Joined: 20 Jan 2022
Location: Iowa
Points: 3
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Shivvets Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Converting an 8070 to dual pto
    Posted: 20 Jan 2022 at 10:48am
New here, I am sure this has been posted and answered 100 times...but

I just got an 8070 and wondering how difficult converting it to a dual 540/1000 pto would be and also a cost estimate?

Or is that something you wouldn't recommend?


Edited by Shivvets - 20 Jan 2022 at 10:49am
Back to Top
Sponsored Links


Back to Top
Tbone95 View Drop Down
Orange Level Access
Orange Level Access
Avatar

Joined: 31 Aug 2012
Location: Michigan
Points: 10025
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Tbone95 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Jan 2022 at 11:06am
Correct, it's been asked and answered, but I've never been involved in any of them so I can't specifically help you.  You could try the search function on here, but it's a little. . . . .well, you can try.  Someone soon will answer I'm sure.

So, why am I replying?  First off, welcome to the forum!

Second, what will you be running at 540 with your tractor?  Because, you have to be careful, you will be capable of a LOT of torque that can break stuff not intended for that much HP.  If it's light duty stuff, OK.
Back to Top
Shivvets View Drop Down
Bronze Level
Bronze Level


Joined: 20 Jan 2022
Location: Iowa
Points: 3
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Shivvets Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Jan 2022 at 11:18am
New Idea round baler and maybe a discbine
Back to Top
IBWD MIke View Drop Down
Orange Level
Orange Level
Avatar

Joined: 08 Apr 2012
Location: Newton Ia.
Points: 2351
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote IBWD MIke Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Jan 2022 at 1:20pm
Welcome to the forum!

The search function can be very useful, frustrating at times but useful. Try an advanced search. Choose 'any date' for starters. Takes some trial and error.
Back to Top
Tbone95 View Drop Down
Orange Level Access
Orange Level Access
Avatar

Joined: 31 Aug 2012
Location: Michigan
Points: 10025
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Tbone95 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Jan 2022 at 2:11pm
Originally posted by Shivvets Shivvets wrote:

New Idea round baler and maybe a discbine

I would think you'd be fine, as long as you don't try and set land speed records while operating.  Just because you HAVE the horsepower, doesn't mean you NEED to use it all!  
Back to Top
CrestonM View Drop Down
Orange Level
Orange Level
Avatar

Joined: 08 Sep 2014
Location: Oklahoma
Points: 8122
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote CrestonM Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Jan 2022 at 10:13am
A lot of times when I’m having issues with the forum search, I go to Google and search my question, followed by “Allis Forum” and that tends to work decent.
Back to Top
victoryallis View Drop Down
Orange Level
Orange Level


Joined: 15 Apr 2010
Location: Ludington mi
Points: 2670
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote victoryallis Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Jan 2022 at 8:07pm
I’m 99% sure Tornado8070 has done it. 
8030 and 8050MFWD, 7580, 3 6080's, 160, 7060, 175, heirloom D17, Deere 8760
Back to Top
ajl View Drop Down
Bronze Level
Bronze Level


Joined: 31 Dec 2009
Location: Alberta
Points: 89
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ajl Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Jan 2022 at 8:27pm
Most discbines are 1000 rpm.  Biggest problem I had with my 8070 is that is large 1000 only.   Got an adapter to use it on a manure spreader with small 1000 and worked OK.  Just was tightening the set screws on the adapter every few loads.  
Back to Top
victoryallis View Drop Down
Orange Level
Orange Level


Joined: 15 Apr 2010
Location: Ludington mi
Points: 2670
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote victoryallis Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Jan 2022 at 8:41pm
Originally posted by ajl ajl wrote:

Most discbines are 1000 rpm.  Biggest problem I had with my 8070 is that is large 1000 only.   Got an adapter to use it on a manure spreader with small 1000 and worked OK.  Just was tightening the set screws on the adapter every few loads.  

If it’s as simple as shaft size get a different PTO shaft built up.  We got a large 1000 and a small one for out grain cart just depends what tractor is going on. Deere and Genesis run the large 7580 and 8000’s run small. 
8030 and 8050MFWD, 7580, 3 6080's, 160, 7060, 175, heirloom D17, Deere 8760
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.10
Copyright ©2001-2017 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.063 seconds.


Help Support the
Unofficial Allis Forum