This site is not affiliated with AGCO Inc., Duluth GA., Allis-Chalmers Co., Milwaukee, WI., or any surviving or related corporate entity. All trademarks remain the property of their respective owners. All information presented herein should be considered the result of an un-moderated public forum with no responsibility for its accuracy or usability assumed by the users and sponsors of this site or any corporate entity.
The Forum Parts and Services Unofficial Allis Store Tractor Shows Serial Numbers History
Forum Home Forum Home > Allis Chalmers > Construction and other equipment
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

1955 D-Patrol / Road Grader Problem

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Bronze Level
Bronze Level

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote D-Patrol Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: 1955 D-Patrol / Road Grader Problem
    Posted: 22 Dec 2016 at 9:14pm
Hello Everyone,   
This is my first time to post to this site and I am not experienced at this, so please bear with me. 

Several years ago, I purchased a D Grader in need of a new engine.   After a complete overhaul and new clutch, new hydraulic hoses, fuel tank, etc, it was working great.   I've probably put about 50 hours on her in the last two years.   

Now here's the problem.   about two weeks ago, I was out back working and leveling an area in the pasture.    I overworked it and killed the engine.   Upon attempting to restart, the starter locked.   I walked home.   The next day the snowstorm hit South Dakota, followed by freezing temps.   The blade and tires froze to the ground.   The rear wheels were probably in 6 inch holes.   

This past week the weather improved and there was some thawing.   I got her started.   On my first attempt to move her, something popped in the drive-line.