This site is not affiliated with AGCO Inc., Duluth GA., Allis-Chalmers Co., Milwaukee, WI., or any surviving or related corporate entity. All trademarks remain the property of their respective owners. All information presented herein should be considered the result of an un-moderated public forum with no responsibility for its accuracy or usability assumed by the users and sponsors of this site or any corporate entity.
The Forum Parts and Services Unofficial Allis Store Tractor Shows Serial Numbers History
Forum Home Forum Home > Allis Chalmers > Farm Equipment
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

B Valve Train Issue

Post Reply Post Reply Page  123 4>
Author
Orange Level
Orange Level

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote theropod Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: B Valve Train Issue
    Posted: 21 Nov 2017 at 4:23pm

Pulled the valve cover on my B today and found this. I am not a mechanical genius but I know this is not good. At least 3 other tappets are impacting the valve spring top caps. My question is should I (can I) pull the rocker arm assembly and take my die grinder to the tappets without ruining them? It appears they need less than 1/16" to clear.

I also got the old tractor to start and run today after going back through the old carb again. The run time was longer, maybe 2-3 minutes, but it did the exact same thing as last time. It ran smooth and rattle/smoke free and then just shut off like the ignition had been cut, but I am still getting sparks on the plugs. I fear the old carb has major issues that are invisible. All the passages are open, the float neither floods nor starves. I have a clear hose attached to the the inlet and when the engine was running the gas level slowly dropped. So, I broke down and bought a brand new carb, which was NOT cheap.

Edited by theropod - 21 Nov 2017 at 7:38pm
Put the bunny back in the box!
1938 B, 1977 Yanmar YM2200

No private messages:
use email: